The Chapel members would like to thank all those who gave so generously to support our effort on 21 March. We are delighted with our total of £500. It is a marvellous example of pulling together and we are greatly encouraged in our endeavours.
The Early Days of Methodism in Sibford
It appears that Methodism was first established in Sibford with the creation of house group meetings for worship in members’ houses.
Subsequently, on 3 July 1826, an appeal was launched to the benevolence of an enlightened and generous public on behalf of the Wesleyan Methodists at Sibford Gower who ‘having been brought to an experience of the blessings of the Gospel, are desirous to erect a house for the worship of God, that others may be brought to participate with themselves of the same blessing’.
Then, in order to expand, and with membership growing, a lease was obtained in October 1827 for the use of a cottage at a rent of 5/- a year. The next day a re-lease conveyed extra ground, which was freehold subject to certain conditions. We believe this was the origin of the present Chapel; in July 1832 the site was extended by the acquisition of a blacksmith’s shop or shoeing shed.
Anyone who would like to join us on Sunday mornings would be sure of a warm welcome.